SLDA Membership

Become a member

There are five classes of membership for the SLDA:

  • Municipality/Unincorporated Community
  • Business
  • Organization
  • Honorary Member
  • Individual

Individual: $10/year
Business or Organization: $100/year

APPLY TODAY! Local businesses, organizations and individuals are encouraged to join our Association and help build a better region. Use the button below to apply now:

Apply for SLDA Membership


Current Directors & Members

Board of Directors

  • Gilbert Linstead (LFUSCL) - President
  • Hedley Ryland (LAL) - 1st Vice-President
  • Douglas Robbins (LSHDC) - 2nd Vice-President
  • Terry Hancock (Forteau) — Secretary/Treasurer
  • Bonnie Goudie (LAC)
  • Suzette Marshall (WSM)
  • Randi Linstead (Pinware)
  • Michelle Rumbolt (AECU)
  • Stefanie Kao-Fowler (At Large)
  • Catherine Pye (At Large)
Municipality Members
  • L'Anse au Clair
  • Forteau
  • L'Anse au Loup
  • West St. Modeste
  • Pinware
Communities Without Representation
  • Red Bay
  • Capstan Island
  • L'Anse Amour
Business Members
  • Atlantic Edge Credit Union
  • Labrador Fishermen's Shrimp Company
Organization Members
  • Labrador Straits Historical Development Corporation
Honorary Members
  • Deb Barney
  • Chastity Butt
  • George Fowler
  • Joe Fowler
  • Aggie Cabot
  • Wanita Stone
  • Philip Bridle
Individual Members
  • Deb Barney
  • Wilson Belbin
  • Walter Bolger
  • Anthony Butt
  • Cecil Butt
  • Mary Ellen Butt
  • Philip Bridle
  • Aggie Cabot
  • Dalton Earle
  • Arthur Fowler
  • Dorman Fowler
  • Reg Fowler
  • George Fowler
  • Joe Fowler
  • Cynthia Hancock
  • Normand Jones
  • Jason Jones
  • Jane Layden
  • Rose Mary Lee
  • Melvin Linstead
  • Sybil Linstead
  • Bruce Moores
  • Corilee Normore
  • Kevin Normore
  • Megan Normore
  • Morley Normore
  • Nadine Normore
  • Tyrone Normore
  • Johnny Oates
  • George Odell
  • Myrtle Payne
  • Sam Payne
  • Mark Peach
  • Enis Pope
  • Pauline Roberts (Alasteir)
  • Neil Rowsell
  • Agatha Ryland
  • Cecil Ryland
  • Andrew Saulter
  • Wanita Stone


More About Membership

All individuals, organizations and businesses within the area L'Anse au Clair to Red Bay are eligible for membership in the association. An application for membership is made to the office of the SLDA, and becomes effective upon approval by the Board of Directors and payment of the designated membership fee. Each business member and organization member appoints a representative to speak and vote on their behalf.

All municipalities, along with the unincorporated communities of L'Anse Amour and Captan Island, are eligible for membership in the association. Membership become effective upon payment of the designated membership fee. Each municipality/community appoints a representative to speak and vote on its behalf.

Honourary members are appointed by the Board of Directors from time to time, in recognition of their long term support and contributions to the association.

Every member is entitled to vote at general meetings. The SLDA holds at least one general meeting each year, an Annual General Meeting (AGM).

The association is governed by a Board of Directors that may include:

  • Eight community representatives.
  • Three representatives of businesses and organizations who are members of the assocation.
  • Two Directors at Large, who are individual members of the association.

Board members are elected at an AGM, and serve a term of two or three years. The Board meets on a monthly basis.